Print Page | Contact Us | Your Cart | Sign In | Register
GAINing Ground: Blog

ANNOUNCING: ACYPL Delegate Kouri Marshall!

Thursday, October 1, 2015   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Tara Bardella
Share |

Democratic GAIN is proud to announce that our Executive Director Kouri C. Marshall will be participating a in a 14-day political exchange program to Australia as a delegate on a trip organized by the American Council of Young Political Leaders!:

                               Kouri Marshall to Participate in Political Exchange to Australia

                                              Exchange to Focus on Public Diplomacy

(Washington, DC) – Kouri Marshall, Executive Director of Democratic GAIN, will participate in a 14-day 

political exchange program to Australia as a delegate on a trip organized by the American Council of 

Young Political Leaders (ACYPL).  


rsz_111072812_10101499904815897_7985816955705117413_n (1).jpg

Marshall will join six other emerging political and policy leaders between the ages of 25-40 from across 

the United States to explore the governance, politics, and policy making in Australia. The exchange is 

being arranged by ACYPL in partnership with the US Embassy-Canberra, and the Australian Political 

Exchange Program, and made possible by a grant from the United States Department of State Bureau of 

Educational and Cultural Affairs.

“ACYPL exchanges give American local leaders a global perspective. Throughout their program, 

delegates will meet with high-level government and policy officials, political party representatives, 

business and community leaders, and ACYPL alumni,” explained ACYPL CEO Linda Rotunno.  “They 

will explore a whole range of issues, and gain a unique perspective on Australia’s history, politics and 

culture.  Most importantly, we hope they will forge professional relationships and friendships that will last 

In addition to Marshall, the American delegates participating in this exchange include: The Honorable 

Raumesh Akbari
, Member, Tennessee General Assembly, Jinyoung Lee Englund, Vice President of 

Strategy, Digital Currency Council, Leslie Fox, Director, Legislative Outreach, International Council of 

Shopping Centers, Stephen Plevniak, Manager, Federal Government Affairs, Xcel Energy Inc., The 

Honorable Katrina Shankland
, Assistant Minority Leader, Wisconsin State Assembly. The group will be 

accompanied by ACYPL alumnus Doug Stang, Director, State and Local Public Affairs, 3M. 

Since 1966, the American Council of Young Political Leaders [ACYPL] has designed and implemented 

unique international exchange activities for political leaders worldwide.  Our programs are designed to 

encourage civil discourse, active citizenship, and engaged and sound public policy making.  They 

promote sustained professional relationships and friendships among young people poised to become 

tomorrow’s global leaders and policy makers.  

For more information on ACYPL, please visit